Tada and Toy Internship

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 23.24.25

Tada and Toy is a Jewellery brand founded by two London based designers Tansy Aspinall and Victoria Van Holthe. They are great friends from school in Kent where they both went onto study and work in other fields. However they reunited two years ago to join forces and break into the fashion world, sharing the same interests in Fashion and Conservation.

Tada and Toy is a fresh, young, fun, luxury Fashion Brand that is full of your ideal designs that you want to take on holiday. The brand makes delicate, cool, high quality pieces that make us complete with guilt free price tags. Their jewellery is made from 92.5 sterling silver with then either 18ct Gold Plated Vermeil, Rose Gold or black Rhodium.

Its a whole lot of sparkle to let out your inner queen of sass.

Their jewellery can be worn everyday and especially all at the same time. I always mix their necklaces together with copious amounts of earrings – I can never get enough. Their jewellery is effortlessly simplistic mixed with sharp edged design that takes you from day to night, where you can stack up the pieces to make a statement or keep it individual for effortless elegance.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 19.54.01

The brand has been seen in the top magazines such as Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, Grazia and Elle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I know this tickles your fancy – I can feel the excitement.

The Aspinall Foundation

Tada and Toy not only design high quality jewellery but they also support The Aspinall Foundation where Tansy Aspinall’s Grandfather  – John Aspinall set up the Charity in 1984. The Aspinall Foundation is an internationally renowned animal conservation where the charity works to save species from extinction and restore species to their natural habitat through reintroduction and animal projects. The Foundations runs projects in Africa, Java and Madagascar.

29057

Tansy’s Farther is the current chairman of The Aspinall Foundation. The Charity believes that the reintroduction of animals into their natural habitats can help conserve wildlife and their habitat. Over the past few years they have reintroduced a range of animals including black rhino, Javan langurs, Javan gibbon, European bison and western lowland gorillas back to their natural habitat.

image-0013

With each purchase from Tada and Toy, 5% of sales are donated directly to the Aspinall Foundation and in Tada and Toy’s Charity Collection, 25% of sales are donated directly to the Aspinall Foundation.

Who could not love these girls!

Interning life with Tada and Toy.

I came across Tada and Toy after finishing an internship for a shoe designer (post available – Camilla Elphick) as my great friend told me about her family friends that have set up a jewellery brand and are looking for help from someone with a passion in the fashion industry.

Getting into a different section in the fashion world appealed to me as I crave to know every aspect of the industry. I emailed the girls straight away and before I most probably was getting out of bed, I had an instant reply back asking for an interview. I immediately got super excited as I always do and arranged an interview that week.

My immediate reaction when meeting with Tansy and Victoria was oh my god, you guys are super leggy, those legs go on for days ahah! there was me 5ft8 feeling like a shrew. No but seriously, they were both so smiley when I walked in, giving off a cool and fun vide that sucked me in, making the fashion industry feel super chilled like we are all super stars.

DREAM!

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.48.08.png

Ally’s on the job 🙂

I began with being run through more about their company and looking through their old lookbooks and their new SS16 collection to see their style and inspirations.I am always asked so sweetly if it is okay to do anything when they ask, and the words that I say the most is YESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESY…. a never ending yes as I want to perform the best I can, allowing myself to take on tasks to learn more.

Time to dive straight in.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 22.54.56

We did a lot of shows where we arranged our display to show customers how we want to portray Tada and Toy as. I packaged up each individual piece of jewellery of what was to be sold at the events and this would be up to about 100 pieces or more sometimes, as we needed 5 or more of the same pieces already packaged for buying customers. The shows that we sold at last christmas were Birmingham Clothes Show, Spirit of Christmas, Christies, Pop up at Phillip Morris and many many more!

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 19.53.01

At each show I would help the girls with sales and promoting the brand to passing customers. Each show was always a great success with customers admiring the brand and understanding their inspirations, with purchases being made with more than one piece of jewellery at a time. Each customer was always intrigued by our best seller – Cuff earrings. The cuffs come in two shapes, a Star and Hexagon each in Gold, Rose Gold, Silver and black Rhodium for the star too. These are seriously cool that give off a punk look when I stack them together.

Tansy and Tor take such care over how they would like their products packaged up for their customers at shows, they definitely made sure I mastered each step correctly when packaging.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 22.37.53

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.42.15

I always had such a laugh with Tansy and Tor at the shows, whether it be gossiping about the typical drama in our lives or how we want to rule the world haha 🙂 imagine, me, ruling the world, bazinga! Sheldon Copper eat your heart out.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.47.30

As the girls began to trust me with sales and promoting the brand, they let me set up at shows on my own when they had another show the same day to sell at. This felt great as I was trust worthy and was able to “run the show” with keeping them updated with sales.  As you read here, chit chatting away is what I do, so showing customers my excitement over the brand and making them enthusiastic to buy buy buy is always my goal 🙂 making someone so happy about their purchase is always the best.

Some of our friends can’t get enough either!

Our favs, Poppy Delevingne and Rosie Fortescue wearing our star hoops earrings and Star cuff.

C’est Chic!

On days when we didn’t have a show to attend, I was able to do a bit of web design. I did admit to them that I don’t know a lot about working on a website, trying to add stock and change images but they weren’t too sure themselves on it so I was more than happy to give it a go which was really great, as I was able to work my head around it and understand how to make it a complete website. Tada and Toy also have another website, the one I was working on building it up, where they sell bed throws, blankets, scarfs and shawls all made of 100% cashmere.

My other tasks were to package up online orders. They have such a cute packaging set where necklaces come in lovely wooden boxes with a bengal tiger in rose gold printed on the front with their name in rose gold too. A care card is also provided in the package with drawings of their other designs and then sealed with funny hashtag quotes.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.46.56

We were also getting super excited for London Fashion Week ,as Tada and Toy will be with Swarovski due to our first ever diamond collection, which has been a massive hit so far with all the ladies – this is a big deal people! FASHION WEEK HULLLAAAA!!!!

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 19.54.38

Tada and Toy will be at London Fashion Week 19-23 February and London Fashion Weekend 25-28 February.

At the end of a seriously 2 busy months a week before christmas. I was given a Gold “Spiny Lizard” necklace as a thank you from the girls which I opened on Christmas day. I got so overwhelmed and felt so grateful that they had given me one of their best pieces that people always admire. I had loved always it when I first started at Tada and Toy and receiving it as a Thankyou Christmas prezzie made me really feel part of Tada and Toy and not just an Intern. 🙂

Thankyou girlies Xxx

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 21.11.37

Be sure to get your hands on their SS16 Collection is its all colour popping stones, chains for days and forever changing shapes that make you want to stack stack stack. Get that Look!

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.39.07

Don’t be the one that missed out on London Fashion Weekend people!

You’ll want to be there

Get your tickets online

I’ll be there wahhhhoolaoaoaoa

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 23.24.35

BE A KID WITH BIG DREAMS

X

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

